Skip to content

Adventure Travel, Solo Style (Oh, and a Job Resignation!)

August 11, 2013

Well, as many of you may have noticed – I am a horrible blogger. I forget to update this and with the hectic 6 day work schedule I’ve had for the last year and a half, my motivation was low. At this point, I’ve decided to change that. I’ve resigned from my position in Dubai, plan to travel to the United States for 10 days (San Francisco, yeah!), and then on August 27th I fly to Kochi, India to begin an adventure.

I’m planning on an extended backpacking trip, alone, through a large portion of Southeast Asia. The length of the trip depends on how quickly (or slowly, hopefully) I deplete my budget – but here’s to it being a long one. At minimum, I expect to be gone for 6 months, but if I can swing a year, well, I may be gone for a year!!!

My minimum (very rough, non committed) itinerary is as follows:
India – 2 Months
Nepal – 1 Month
Thailand – 1 Month
Sri Lanka – 2 or 3 Weeks (over new years, meeting up with friends)
Vietnam – 1 Month

After that, I re-evaluate the budget and decide if I can continue on. if I can then I plan to visit:
Laos
Cambodia
Burma
The Philippines

If you know anybody living in those countries, I’d be happy to take any advice on what to see. I’d also accept a floor to sleep on for a night or two!

Many of you know I just recently returned from a 20 day vacation that included a  horseback trek into a remote part Mongolia (along with a brief 3 days in Korea). I had hoped the trip would get me amped back up for work, but I found when I got back I was still exhausted. So, a couple months later here I am, with no agenda on what I visit in any of these countries. I’m excited for the lack of a ‘plan’ other than general regions I plan to visit. I’ll figure it out as I go, which will be half of the adventure.

I hope to post some photos of my trek through Mongolia and brief visit to Korea before I leave the UAE on the 17th. Feel free to send me a nastygram if you’re interested in taking a peek at some of that to get me in gear =D.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment