Skip to content

I depart for India!

August 27, 2013

The trip begins! In 5.5 hours I board a plane and head across the world again. This time my destination is Kochi, India. I’m quite excited. I’ve got my pack (only 40 pounds…) and I’m ready to go. I get the feeling I’m going to be in shape by the end of this trip, just by default of having to carry my home around on my back with me all the time. It’s a strange and yet liberating thought to realize that I literally have no ‘home’ right now. The best I can do in that regard is a storage unit in Walnut Creek. Otherwise, home is wherever I end up.

I’m fortunate to be meeting up with my friend Shameem when I arrive in India. He’s from Kerala in South India and I’m spending 4 or 5 days with him before he returns to Dubai at the end of his vacation. I’m quite fortunate to have a chance to spend some time with him and it’ll be great to see him.

One thing I’m not looking forward to is the endless flying I’m about to start doing. I fly from San Francisco to Tokyo to Singapore to Mumbai to Kochi. It’s roughly 36 hours of travel time in economy class. Since I booked with award miles, my Gold status with United won’t allow me to upgrade to Economy Plus+ for free like I normally do. Life is hard I tell ya.

Anyway, from here on out I’ve no idea when I’ll be updating this. I did not get a SPOT tracker as planned, so I’ll only be posting updates when I do actually sit down at a computer with internet access, and I get the feeling India is NOT rife with wireless internet access.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Have a spectacular trip. Don’t be afraid to adventure. Take lots of photos! Say “hi” to Thailand for me.

  2. Nancy permalink

    Wow…40 lbs…are you sure you need all that stuff in your pack? Jack and I carried about 20 each for 5 months on the road. You may want to think about dumping some of what you don’t need in India to make it easy on yourself for the rest of the journey…..just a suggestion….

    • goodwithafork permalink

      I did just that after lugging some junk around today actually. Skimped down on some things. My biggest challenge is packing for two environments – normal backpacking and some trekking I plan to do in Nepal. Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

  3. Good luck! I’ll be thinking of you. May your journey be safe, full of adventure, and filled with surprises!

Leave a comment